page tools :

Nea in the News


Nea CLC learners & staff often do extraordinary things and have newsworthy accomplishments. Visit this news feed often for updates or subscribe to the RSS feed or Alerts below.



Nea Learner Rewarded Community Service Award!
Posted 10/10/2017 10:00AM

Alameda’s Fourth Annual Community Service Awards


Please join Mayor Trish Herrera Spencer and Alameda’s Social Services Human Relations Board (SSHRB) to honor extraordinary volunteers who make a difference in our community.

On Thursday, October 26, outstanding community volunteers, one nonprofit organization, and representatives of our business community, will receive City of Alameda Community Service Awards during a Reception and Presentation Ceremony at the Alameda Elks Lodge, in their lower reception area at 2255 Santa Clara Ave. The Reception will begin at 6:30 p.m., followed by the Awards Presentation Ceremony at 7:00 p.m.

A Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Honora Murphy, for her more than 50 years’ of volunteer service to our community. 

Additional honorees include:

  • Kari Thompson and Don Sherratt - Volunteer of the Year Awards;
  • Janet Waring - Community Service Individual Award;
  • Nancy Evans - Nonprofit Board Member Award;
  • Kelly Lux and Lauren Zimmerman Cook - Business / Business Person Awards;
  • Ja’Naylah Johnson, Emily Chau, Lily Conable, and Ken Der, Community Service Youth Awards; and
  • FAAS-Friends of the Alameda Animal Shelter - Nonprofit Organization Award. 

Awardees will also be recognized during the presentation of The Extra Mile Day Proclamation, at the October 17th meeting of the City Council, where Penumbra, Inc. will be recognized for its commitment to youth, support of the 2017 AUSD Career Pathways Job Fair, and for going the “Extra Mile” by providing ten paid summer internships to Alameda high school students.

Thirty-seven nominations were considered by a panel of judges that included Mayor Trish Herrera Spencer, California State Assembly member Rob Bonta, Alameda County Supervisor Wilma Chan, Alameda Police Chief Paul Rolleri, AUSD Trustee Jennifer Williams, Mastick Senior Center Advisory Board President Paul Hauser, SSHRB Board Vice President Christine Chilcott, and SSHRB Board members Mark Sorensen and Claudia Medina.

The Community Service Awards Committee would also like to recognize the other outstanding community service volunteers, organizations, businesses, and business persons who were nominated. They are: Italo Calpestri III, George Gunn, Art Kurrasch, Karin Lucas, Joanne Robinson, Phil Holt, Pam Riley-Chang, Sylvia Cunningham, Ruth Smiler, Denise Gasti, Rich Sherratt, Stephen Zimmerman, Michael Chen, Makenzie Kan, Alameda Education Foundation, Alameda ELKS Lodge, Alameda Food Bank, Alameda Homeless Network, Alameda Music Project, Friends of the Alameda Library, Island City Opera, Kiwanis Club of Alameda, and Rhythmix Cultural Works.

A special thanks to those who took the time to nominate one or more of these outstanding Alamedans.

Click here for the link to the press release.

COVID-19 Updates Here


Engage, Excel, Explore

Lower Village (K-5)
Upper Village (6-12)

1900 Third St
Alameda CA 94501

Ph: (510) 748-4008
Fax: (510) 864-4281


Lead Facilitators:

Jana Chabre (Lower Village)

Tyesha Day (Upper Village)


School Office:

Becky Freeman

Mary McKee

Get to Know NeaApply for AdmissionSupport ACLC

                    Creating Your Passport to the Future 

©2014     Nea Community Learning Center     1900 Third Street     Alameda, CA 94501     510.748.4008     Contact Us       Site Map
email page print page small type default type large type
powered by finalsite